Yelp Reviews

Whitaker Wellness Institute Reviews on Yelp

Joan F.
Chico, CA
9/23/2014

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

Five stars only because there are not tens stars available! More to come…

We found Whitaker Wellness Institute to be all we remembered plus more. Since our last stay, October 2013, they have additional therapies that we took advantage of with great success. The attitude of the staff is part of the healing process. Every morning we were met with smiles and encouraging words. They will do whatever is necessary to enable you to get the most from your visit with the least amount of stress.

After our first Back to Health week we were preparing to return home when my husband looked at me and said “I don’t want to leave yet”. So I talked to our patient representative and arranged to extend our stay for an additional week at a VERY reasonable price.

This experience in health is simply amazing! Beautiful meals served in a relaxed atmosphere, lectures that are delightfully informative brought to us by the individual doctors on staff, exercise sessions, nutritional counseling, and that’s just at the hotel. The clinic is located approx 3/4 of a mile from the Hilton and a beautiful walk in the Newport Beach weather. Although they do offer a shuttle between the clinic and the hotel every 30 minutes.

The clinic is the backbone of all healing and therapies. The therapies available are the most amazing and they are all together in one location. I’m sure there are other places to find theses therapies but not all together and certainly not priced this reasonably.

Our doctor is Dr. Windham and she alone is worth the cost of the program! However, all doctors we have had exposure to are a wealth of knowledge. We learn things there that we never would know without their willingness to share.

Dr. Whitaker speaks from time to time and it is the highlight of the stay! He is brilliant and his vast experiences are shared willingly and with humor. I sit in awe of the man that has made it possible to change our lives so completely. I pray he lives a long healthy life and continues to “change the world one patient at a time”! Thank you Dr. Whitaker!!!

9/23/2014

We were so pleased with our previous stay for the Back to Health week in October of last year that we are going back for a general tune up and refresher. The staff make this feel like a treat to look forward to as if it were a fantasy vacation.

I am very excited to return and find out how my health has improved since our previous stay. I would never have known how to live a healthy lifestyle and get the most out of every day of my life without the guidance and advise of the staff at Whitaker Wellness Institute. The doctors are genuinely concerned and care about you as a person and I have never felt rushed or dismissed during any time spent with them. The different therapies available to assist in improving your health are unique and I don’t believe there is another clinic that offers them all in one place. The services available are unique and I’m very thankful that Dr. Whitaker has made it his mission in life to help improve the health and lives of so many patients for so many years!

10/10/2013

My experience with Whitaker Wellness Clinic was so positive I referred my sister and brother-in-law (who was also impressed) and most recently my husband. To make this short let me say… It was a life changing experience for all four of us! The clinic is a first class operation, well run and the employees are efficient and friendly. We have found them to be quite willing to go out of their way to assist in any way they can. We went for the Back to Health week and that is exactly what we were given… Our health back! The information given and lectures we attended have allowed us to return home and continue to improve our health. I swear I think my husband is getting younger every day with renewed energy and zest for life! Thank you Dr Whitaker for providing this wonderful source of alternative medicine.

Back to top ↑

Mike M.
Falls Church, VA
8/26/2014

:-) :-) :-) :-)

While on a business trip to LA a friend recommended Whitaker wellness. Office is in Newport Beach, little bit older 50s looking building. Seemed kind of dated. I met with a consultant and we talked about my health and diet. Now…..this is a little bit personal but oh well yelp is inherently subjective.

I’m in good shape and have made leaps over the past year with my overall health/well-being by changing my diet. What I have still yet to crack is getting of ADD medication, so I was interested in consulting with Whatiker about some alternative ideas that I had and compare notes and hear their recommendations to help me move forward.

First off I was thrilled that when I told them I was on a Paleo diet that they 100% agreed with my philosophy on eating. I’m also taking fish oil, vitamin D and occasionally magnesium when I can’t sleep. They recommend the same course and our ideas aligned perfectly. Great first sign.

For the ADD we discussed neurofeedback at length. I think it makes sense to scan the brain as we do with every other body part. Everyone there was very nice and their service and answers to my questions were impressive and professional.

Back to top ↑

Danny R.
Arlington, VA
8/4/2014

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

I thought I should update my review.

I last said that the only downside I saw was that the center’s shuttle made it difficult to get into the parking lot. But I discovered there’s actually two entrances into the parking lot. The entrance that’s further south on Birch Street is free and clear, and very easy to access.

I was recently recommended a therapeutic massage from the center’s Reflexologist, Yelena Striganova for the strong tension I have in my IT bands and the right side of my neck. Yelena was outstanding – very professional and very good at what she does. I left feeling looser and lighter than I had felt in a long time.

7/14/2014

:-) :-) :-) :-)

I visited the Newport location last Thursday.  There was no line or wait and the lady at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful.  I asked her if we could speak with someone about a consultation and within 3 minutes 2 friendly staffers were shaking my hand in the lobby.

Everyone was really nice and helpful, and they really spent the time to understand my motivations and goals.  I’m definitely planning on going in for some of the things we talked about in the near future, most likely on an out-patient basis.  Overall, I’d recommend this center for sure. The staff were very attentive and responsive.  And quick! 3 minutes of waiting is a record in my book for any doctor’s office ever.

If there is a downside, it was that getting into the parking area was a little bit of a squeeze because they have shuttles to transport patients that take up some room, but there were still plenty of spots available.

Back to top ↑

Erin N.
Newport Beach, CA
2/3/2014

:-) :-) :-) :-)

I have visited Whitaker Wellness several times and the staff is very accommodating and kind. If you are looking for an alternative treatment there are so many great therapies offered at this clinic. I thoroughly enjoyed my treatment here.

Back to top ↑

Kara M.
Havertown, PA
10/21/2013

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

I have been a patient at the Whitaker Wellness Institute for two years now. This is a very special medical institute. They do not rush to prescribe me medication to quickly rush me out of the office, which I feel I have experienced with way too many doctors and hospitals. This is not a business to them, and I am not just patient number 100 to them. My doctor goes through all of my options with me. I feel a very personal connection with my doctor and I will not be seeing anyone else as my primary.

10/4/2013

I am a current patient at the Whitaker Wellness Institute. Dr. Whitaker has made great strides in wellness medicine. His center, “Whitaker Wellness” is a beautiful and well run medical establishment. He is knowledgeable and cares about his patients. He makes all visits personal, remembering all of his patients. He provides the tools and education to enable patients to better their situations and health adversities. With his counseling, medical treatment, and life changes, I believe his staff saved my life.

Back to top ↑

David H.
Annapolis Royal, Canada
8/6/2013

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

First rate in fo from a first class health care provider. The day Julian stood on the White House lawn and committed the civil disobedient act of passing out supplements that proported to have specific therapeutic value, I said to myself, ” Yeah there’s a trustworthy guy worthy of respect, EARNED RESPECT. The best  insect natural  repellant is pycnanthum muticum, from the true mountain mint family. Used by botanists in the Amazon rainforests, and the jungles of vietnam, 8 – 12 hours coverage per application. Make your own for pennies. Water extract mix with grape seed oil,   greaseless, drinkable………..

Back to top ↑

 

Marcy J.
Los Angeles, CA
7/22/2013

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

I went here about five years ago when I was having a severe reaction to medications. The treatments felt amazing. I could literally feel the brain fogginess exiting my body. Plus, it was nice to have such a soothing and supportive environment while I healed. The doctors had great knowledge of healing holistically and I knew they were actually listening to me and treated me as an individual with specific needs.

I was so much better when I left. I would definitely go back. It was helpful to have so many different natural treatment options available. Plus, they gave me a lot of advice for how to continue getting better on my own when I went home. It was huge healing and a great amount of hope when I left.

I really value this place.

Back to top ↑

 

G.G.
Newport Beach, CA
2/13/2013

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

Susan (in sales) told me about the benefits of hyperbaric oxygen for wound care. I saw Dr. F for a hyperbaric oxygen Rx. He was very kind and smart. The oxygen chamber was comfortable, and the techs are all very knowledgeable and attentive. After only ONE treatment my rosacea cleared up on my face, and a huge gash/bruise on my leg healed in a day. I wouldn’t believe it if it had not happened to me, The doctor said that oxygen is not usually prescribed for rosacea–it’s for wound healing. But it worked on me!  For the same price as a facial, I can now go and heal my entire body. AMAZING. I am so glad I found this place.

Back to top ↑

 

Ken D.
Mesa, AZ
1/11/2013

:-) :-) :-) :-)

Came hear after reading the book onreversing heart disease. Totally appreciated the teaching received and the care and attention and how things were explained. My only complaint is we were given no idea of what to expect as far as costs for the therapies and consequently were unable to receive the therapies recommended since I had not budgeted for them. Had I been aware of a ball park amount I could have prepared for it. Will likely return at a later date.

Back to top ↑

 

Rick L.
Cochrane, AB
1/10/2013

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

What an awesome place.  I appreciated the professionalism, the honesty and sincere desire to help each patient.  Thanks for all the great help with my health, for all the guidance to better and healthier days ahead.  The insight received here will benefit me for the rest of my life.

Back to top ↑

 

Muffin M.
San Antonio, TX
10/14/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

The Whitaker Wellness Institute is a wonderful place!
They are truly cutting-edge and extremely caring and compassionate.
The doctors are so open-minded and full of well-seasoned wisdom.
We have returned for our third stay and love the therapies,the delicious,wholesome food and the enlightened treatment we have received.
We truly believe Whitaker Wellness is a Godsend-
A true blessing!!!

Back to top ↑

 

Chuck W.
Huntington Beach, CA
9/6/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

I started out a skeptic. When I made an appointment at Dr. Whitaker’s Wellness Institute, it was only to quiet my wife’s repeated concerns about my use of statin drugs.

Then I met Dr. Mirhashemi.

Wow. Right away it was clear: this informed, vivacious doctor not only knew her stuff, but understood me as well. She listened to my silly protests of her warnings about too much sugar, and then said: “I understand. But if you do what I tell you, you’ll get better.” That’s what I say to my college students, so her assurance overcame my resistance. Improving my health seemed like a worthwhile investment, and I agreed to enter the program for a week. Even then, I told my wife it would be a boring experience.

Wrong again. Right away I met some lively people who were a delight to share meals and swap stories with. And I liked watching movies during hyperbaric oxygen treatments. The Microcurrent sessions with Tara were a pleasure, not only because they felt good, but because she was so upbeat. Even more surprising, I actually enjoyed my time in chelation therapy, meeting friendly, intriguing people from all walks of life.

I received excellent ideas for dietary changes that turned out, when I got home, to be quite tasty. When I dared to enter the office of spirited Dr. Porteous, in a twinkling this talented chiropractor banished my backache. Then Dr. Wang’s gentle acupuncture treatments resulted in my sleeping longer–and he even gave me a timely tip about the Chinese stock market!

The doctors’ lecture series turned out to be stimulating and informative, even amusing at times. The knowledgeability of the lecturers helped me understand the reasons for the recommended changes to my lifestyle, reinforcing my growing respect and resolve. Once, after I’d questioned the ever-gracious Dr. Windham about a statement she’d made about aspirin dosages, asking her where she’d gotten her information (because it differed from what I knew), the next day she showed me a month-old JAMA article that convinced me her new data were indeed up-to-date.

After leaving the Institute and following Dr. Mirhashemi’s prescribed regimen over the next several weeks, I was surprised to see myself losing weight–with, I blush to admit, only minimal exercise. After about three months, I’d effortlessly lost over 30 pounds. My cardiologist, who had earlier scoffed at my experiment with alternative medicine, was taken aback when I performed even better on his stress test than I had the year before. Moreover, my cholesterol and blood sugar count were so low that my conventional doctor recommended (as had Dr. Mirhashemi) that I get off statin drugs. Needless to say, that made my wife happy–and me.

When I went to see Dr. Mirhashemi for a follow-up visit, she broke out in a million-watt smile, clearly delighted to see my progress. Given my earlier attitude, she was probably surprised that I’d actually done what she’d prescribed! But I was not surprised she was pleased, because all along her comments and generosity had been showing me that her top priority with me was not her fee but my health. Indeed, all the people who treated me, as well as the support staff, were so friendly, personable and encouraging that from the outset I felt that this was a place where everyone genuinely cared about my well-being.

My week at the Wellness Institute resulted in a transformed man. I feel stronger and more energetic. I have more fun biking, hiking and snorkeling. People even tell me I look better–nice to hear when you’re in your seventies! So I’m grateful to Dr. Whitaker for thinking up this cool program–and especially thankful for all those wonderful people who treated me so splendidly there. In short, I’m glad my wife talked me into going, and I’m writing this review mainly to encourage others who might be pondering. As is obvious, I’ve gone from skeptic, to enthusiast, to advocate!

Back to top ↑

 

Angela R.
Barrie, ON, Canada
8/8/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-)

The proof is in the pudding, so it is hard to write a review on the results so soon since I am still here.  However, I now have a plan to take home with me which should help with my diabetes condition.  I have been to many western medicine doctors for the past 10 years without much help.  The worst part was being put on a medication that made me like the walking dead.  I simply could not take it.  Western medicine’s answer has always been to take drugs and loose some weight…but not really any detailed information.  Here at the Whitaker Wellness Institute, I have met with two doctors and a nutritionist and finally feel like someone is looking at the “whole picture”.  I was not given the pad answer given to all diabetics, as I was with the western doctors.  Instead, I was looked at as an individual with diabetes.  My specific circumstances and condition and history was reviewed and then together, the doctors & specialists came up with a detailed plan tailored specifically for me.  Prior to coming here, I have always been “lumped” into a group and handed the same answer given to all other diabetics who walk through the doctor’s office.  Coming to Whittaker Wellness has given me hope and another possible option and solution to my medical challenges, whereas, all I felt I got with western medicine was a bunch of dead ends.  Having a variety of meals prepared for us, which showed us “how” we should eat, was very enlightening and a big plus about being here.  Instead of just saying to loose weight, the folks here have showed us how to eat and given detailed information about the proper eating regimen we should be following.  This information was a big benefit for me!  All and all, this visit to the Whitaker Wellness Institute was worth it!

Back to top ↑

 

Robin S.
Hobbs, NM
8/4/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

I have been at the Whitaker Wellness Institute for 1 wk now & have only excellent reports!  The amazing results I have seen medically in regards to my issues of depression, lower back pain, fatigue, & symptoms caused from AS anklosyng spondalaropathy are enough; however, there is more.  The employees and professionals I have dealt with here are friendly and positive & truly caring! It is a blessing that I found this place because I was at the end of my rope.  I have been seeing several western med doctors in search of help, but despite my holistic desires, they simply do not know how or do not want to go that route. Prescriptions for drugs to mask symptoms is about all I got.

Last year, I basically fell apart due to stress inducing the AS.  I exercise & eat well-consider myself healthy…but stress is brutal!  To control the joint pain and continuous iritis (arthritis in the eye), the RA doc put me on 2 of the mildest anti-inflammatory meds available.  They did help & I was doing well until 6 months later when I started having terrible stomach aches and nausea.  Thought it was the stomach flu, but after 3 weeks realized it wasn’t. Turns out the anti-inflams caused an ulcer!  So cold turkey off the meds….stomach’s been getting better, but the iritis & joint pain came back with a furry.  So now what?

Additionally, I was having some heavy depression issues (life, stress, contant pain, situations, etc.)  I was trying to hold it all together & find a solution for the AS, because my choices from western medicine were pretty bleak.  A friend told me abt the Whitaker Wellness Clinic & I started researching that, as well as other remedies on independent websites.  I came across the low-dose naltrexone website, saw it could treat my conditions, decided to go to a doctor who I’d seen once for a physical & ask to be put on it.  I even gave him info abt the med.  The appt. was a joke.  The idiot labeled me bi-polar & prescribed risperidone & zoloft after asking me a total of 8 questions!  He also refused to give me the low dose naltrexone.  Unbelievable!  Just for kicks, I entertained the thought & decided to research.  The only symptom of bi-polar disorder I had was the depression part of it; however, I have all but 3 of the symptoms of major depression.  What a quack! Three weeks later, I decided to go to the WW Clinic because there HAD to be something else!  And I’m happy to report…THERE IS!

I decided to do the WW Clinic for 2 weeks.  Met with the Dr. Windham, who is truly gifted & amazing as a physician with a fantastic friendly and positive disposition!  She assured me I was NOT bipolar & that the depression could be treated without heavy duty meds.  She concurred with my assessment that I could use the low-dose naltrexone & prescribed it.  I had already researched all of the treatments available at the WW Institute before coming so I ran the list across her of what I felt might help.  She listened to me & added 2 more to the list which I was not sure about in my researching.  I had an entire page of questions for her & Dr. Windham answered every one without trying to rush off to another appt.  You would have thought I was her only patient by the way she treated me.  I have only gotten that from 1 other doctor in all my years of seeing them!  That was impressive enough, but my recovery has been remarkable! After 2 days, I could already tell a difference!  I tried to pin-point what particular treatment was doing it, but I truly think it was a combination of them all.  I could see where some folks might think this all is hokey or BS, especially because we’ve been SO indoctrinated with western medicine being the “way it is”, but the proof is in the results. By day 3, I was laughing so much throughout the day.  It felt SO incredibly good to laugh that much & that hard!!…I almost felt buzzed it felt SO good!  Then I realized that I had not felt that way in over 4 years!!  I guess when depression creeps up on you, along with lots of contant physical pain, it just grates on you & wears you down slowly to the point where you don’t even realize how bad you feel & how far away from normal you’ve strayed. (not that it was a choice.)  What a contrast!!  It was absolutely amazing to me!  It felt so wonderful to be smiling & laughing & enjoying the day! That had become so foreign to me since I’d felt bad for so long.  I’m sure that having less pain, especially in my back, helped, but I also know that the neurofeedback & oxygen treatments were helping.  AND GET THIS!!  I wasn’t even on the low-dose naltrexone yet!  All of this was happening with absolutely NO DRUGS!  Amazing!

I could go on & on! But let me sum it up: THIS PLACE WORKS!!! Can hardly wait for week 2!! Think I’ll write another review when I’m done!  Salud!!

Back to top ↑

 

Trien L.
Pomona, CA
7/14/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-)

The food here are good.  The first three days I thought that I couldn’t eat the food here because they are… too healthy but my palates became accustomed to the new tastes.  I enjoyed eating their food now.  Most of them are good except for a couple of the lunches.  I didn’t think that I’d be eating eggs there but we are served scrambled eggs every morning, one time we even had quiches.

Back to top ↑

 

Dinh L.
Pomona, CA
7/14/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-)

I thought that real healthy food (served at a health institute) would be yukky but they turned out pretty good.  Some of them are really good.   Their portions are generous.  We eat eggs and sausage in the morning, lunches are salads that range from salmon, steak, tuna salad, chicken, etc, dinners from meatloaves, chicken, to salmon, all with a lot of vegetables and fruits.  They even give the participants recipes of those dishes to duplicate at home.  Yeah!

Back to top ↑

 

Tracy M.
Georgetown, KY
7/9/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-)

I was a patient at Whitaker Wellness in July 2012. I was happy with my Dr., therapies and overall care.  Treatments are not “forced” on you. If you don’t want them, you can cancel them, simple as that. We were told to bring any lab results with
us and we did. Blood is drawn before you see the Dr., only then, are tests ordered depending on what is needed. I wish we had this kind of facility in other parts of the country.
I recommend them and would go back.

T.

Back to top ↑

 

Beth R.
Hilton Head Island, SC
6/20/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-)

I went through the Whitaker Wellness Institute in June of 2012, finding the program to be very informative and life changing. I would highly recommend this program to any one who is desperate to regain their health when traditional medicine is not working! They are upfront about the costs and accept blue cross blue shield insurance for the medical portions of the program.

Back to top ↑

 

Keith R.
Hilton Head Island, SC
6/19/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-)

I would have to give a thumbs up the the Whitaker Institute and their employees

Back to top ↑

 

D.T.
Newport Beach, CA
6/2/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-)

We had a patient that was treated at Whitaker Wellness.  He was impressed with the facility and the care he received.  Knowledgeable, friendly staff.  with great programs individualized for each patient.  dt. Westcliff Nurses Registry…Home Health Care.

Back to top ↑

 

Fred P.
Upland, CA
5/31/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

My wife and I came to Whitaker for different conditions and I definitely feel they have helped us both. Their staff is great! Always willing to help you or answer any question. We have learned a lot about how to take better care of ourselves and highly recommend Dr. Whitaker and his staff to anyone.

Back to top ↑

 

Joyce R.
Rialto, CA
5/30/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-)

After two years plus, taking care of my husband, ended when he died, I was stressed out and hadn’t had a physical in several years, so friends and family said I should take care of myself.
As a many years subscriber to “Health and Healing”, (and wishing I could take my husband to Whitaker Wellness Institute’s Back to Health Program,  I gave myself the gift of a two week stay at the clinic.
Based on my written “profile”, lab tests and the results of recommended diagnostics, the doctor suggested supplements and alternative treatments, in addition to education, diet and exercise, to help me reach my goals:
1. Find a healthy balance to what I eat and the supplements I take.
2. Get started again on a regular exercise program.
3. Start living a lifestyle that would lower my weight without “dieting”.
4. My resolve to reach my fourth goal, to drink enough water everyday, was renewed when I learned how dehydration can contribute to disease and pain.
5.  My own personal goal was to get/stay healthy enough to avoid prescription medications.
Two unexpected bonuses of enjoying the Back to Health Program were:
1.  Building a stronger relationship with my sister-in-law as she also got help with health problems as my companion.
2.  Meeting so many wonderful other participants from many different places, and being inspired by the hope and physical improvements their stories told.  As the days went by we shared encouragement, morale support and loving kindness with staff and patients, in which the good feelings contributed to feeling better and relief from pain.

I came home feeling better and motivated to choose words and actions that support and increase my good health!
Joyce R.

Back to top ↑

 

Mary O.
Dana Point, CA
5/30/2012

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

I have been going to the Whitaker Wellness Institute for years.  The staff is always helpful and friendly.  I have recommended not only the medical services but the vitamin store to my friends and family.

Back to top ↑

 

Jay G.
San Pedro, CA
 8/11/2011

:-) :-) :-) :-)

Well this a few years later and perhaps things have improved.  I have been a few times and just went in today. This is the only place where I have ever had a doctor see me for an hour at a time and for about $120. That’s incredible and since I don’t have insurance, a lot of attention for the money. All the doctors I saw were very discriminating with the tests ordered and offered advise for ways I could save money since I don’t have insurance.  From what I have heard about some other alternative places as well as my own orthodox experiences, I think this pace is a bargain.  That doesn’t mean cheap but it sure beats the usual 5 or if your lucky, 10 minute interaction with a doctor you usually get.  Also they are not dogmatic about the alternative bit but do what seems most appropriate in each case.

Back to top ↑

One-Stop Shop for Wellness

Renowned physician, author, and speaker, Julian Whitaker, MD, opened the doors of the Whitaker Wellness Institute in 1979. Since then, our clinic has helped more than 45,000 patients overcome serious health challenges and get back on the road to healthy living. We’re proud to offer nearly two dozen safe, innovative, healing therapies under one roof—that’s more than any other facility in the northern hemisphere. Just think of us as your “one-stop shop for wellness.”

If you’ve found this Whitaker Wellness Institute reviews page helpful but still want to find out more about how the Whitaker Wellness Institute can help restore your health and vitality, click on the buttons below to schedule a complimentary consultation or contact us to learn more. You can also schedule your complimentary consultation or obtain more information by calling our Patient Services Representatives at (866) 944-8253.

buttons_contact-us buttons_complimentary-consultation

Please share our Whitaker Wellness Institute reviews page with your friends and family on your favorite social media site(s) below: